Authorities of the University

Hon’ble Chancellor
Hon’ble Shri. Justice Abhay Shreeniwas Oka Judge, Supreme Court of India

Hon’ble Shri. Justice Abhay Shreeniwas Oka was born on 25th May, 1960. His Lordship did B.Sc., LL.M. from the University of Bombay. His Lordship enrolled as an Advocate on 28th June, 1983. His Lordship started practicing in Thane District Court in the chamber of his Lordship’s father Shreeniwas W. Oka. In 1985-86, his Lordship joined the chamber of Shri V. P. Tipnis, a former Judge of the Bombay High Court and former Lok Ayukta. His Lordship appeared in several important matters and in public interest litigations. His Lordship elevated as Additional Judge of the High Court of Bombay on 29th August, 2003. His Lordship appointed as a permanent Judge from 12th November, 2005. His Lordship took oath as the Chief Justice of High Court of Karnataka on 10th May 2019. His Lordship took oath as Judge of Supreme Court of India on 31st August, 2021.

Hon’ble Pro-Chancellor
Hon’ble Shri. Justice Dipankar Datta
Chief Justice of Bombay High Court

Hon’ble Shri.Justice Dipankar Datta Born on February 9, 1965. Son of late Salil Kumar Datta, a former Judge of the High Court at Calcutta, awarded LL.B. degree by the University of Calcutta (First batch of 5 year Law course) in 1989. Enrolled as an Advocate on November 16, 1989. Practised mainly in the High Court at Calcutta, as well as in the Supreme Court of India and other High Courts in Constitutional and Civil matters. Was the Junior Standing Counsel for the State of West Bengal from May 16, 2002 to January 16, 2004.

Was Counsel for the Union of India since 1998. Appeared for a number of educational authorities and institutions including the University of Calcutta, W.B. School Service Commission and W.B. Board of Secondary Education. Was Guest Lecturer on Constitutional Law of India in the University College of Law, University of Calcutta, from 1996-97 to 1999-2000. Was elevated to the Bench of the High Court at Calcutta as a permanent Judge on June 22, 2006. Elevated as the Chief Justice of Bombay High Court on April 28, 2020.

Hon’ble Vice-Chancellor
Prof. Dr. K. V. S. Sarma

He was appointed as a Vice Chancellor, Maharashtra National Law University, Aurangabad from 20th August, 2019 (Five years term). Prof. K.V.S. Sarma was born on 24th May, 1961 in Nagpur, Maharashtra State. Prof. Sarma obtained his B.Com. Degree from S.V. University in 1980, B.L. Degree from Sri Krishnadevaraya University in 1983 and M.L Degree from Andhra University in 1989.

He secured “Rao Saheb Venkaiah Gold Medal” for securing highest marks in M.L from Andhra University. He secured Ph.D. Degree on “Consumer Protection Act- A Socio Legal Study” from Berhampur University in the year 2000.

He enrolled as an Advocate on 11-11-1983 in the State Bar Council of Andhra Pradesh. He also practiced as an Advocate from 1983 to 1986 in Visakhapatnam. He started his teaching career from 17th April, 1989. He worked as a Lecturer in M.R.V.R.G.R. Law College, N.V.P. Law College, and P.R.R. Law College. He also worked as Registrar, NALSAR UNIVERSITY OF LAW, Hyderabad: i)17th July, 2008 to 25th July, 2011; ii) 20th March, 2012 to 27th February, 2013.

He also worked as Visiting Faculty, P.G. College of Law, Osmania University from 1993 to 1999. He joined as an Assistant Professor in the NALSAR UNIVERSITY OF LAW, HYDERABAD in the year 1999.

He became Associate Professor in the year 2000 and Professor of Law in the year 2005. He was the member of Academic Council, Executive Council, General Council and Planning Board of NALSAR UNIVERSITY OF LAW. He also worked as Chairman of P.G .Committee and also Post Graduate Research Committee.

He was a member-legal expert and also Vice Chairman Ethics Committee of NIZAM INSTITUE OF MEDICAL SCIENCES, HYDERABAD from 2009 to 2018. He was also nominated as a Legal Expert in Stem Cell Research Committee of NIZAM INSTITUTE OF MEDICAL SCIENCES, HYDERABAD. He received Best Teacher’s Award from the State Government of Telangana on 5th September, 2018. He was a member of Board of Studies in several Universities and Visiting Faculty in several National Level Institutions.

He is also associated with UPSC in different capacities. He also held “Consumer Law Chair Professor, Ministry of Consumer Affairs, New Delhi” in NALSAR UNIVERSITY OF LAW. He also held Convener, Common Law Entrance Test (Implementation Committee) from 2008 to 2013. He also initiated and started MBA course in NALSAR UNIVERSITY. He is also a Subject Expert in Selection Committees of various Universities for selecting Professors.

He was nominated as a Presiding Arbitrator in a dispute between NTPC AND SINGARENI COLLIERIES LTD., (Disputed amount is Rs. Thirty Eight Crores). SEBI nominated him as a Panel Arbitrator in National Commodity and Derivative Exchange Ltd and also Multi Commodity Exchange (MCX). He was nominated as a Permanent Arbitrator by Water Health India Pvt., Ltd., (a Multinational Company) in all disputes between the company and various Panchayats in India.

He guided more than hundred LLM dissertations and three scholars secured PhDs under his guidance. He wrote a) Modern Law of Insurance in India, foreword was given by N.A. Palkiwala, Published by Lexis Nexis Butterworth India Ltd., b) Criminal Law, foreword was given by Justice B.P. Jeevan Reddy, Former Supreme Court Judge and former Chairman, Law Commission of India, Published by Lexis Nexis Butterworth India Ltd., c) Law of Contract Administration and Tender, foreword was given by Justice Madan B. Lokur, former Judge, Supreme Court of India, Published by Thomson Reuters Corporation.

He was also Chief Editor for Business Law Text Book, Published by Telugu Academy, State Government of Andhra Pradesh which is a prescribed text book for B.Com., and BBA students in Telangana and Andhra Pradesh States.

He is also a Member of the Standing Committee of the Legal Education Committee of the Bar Council of India. He is a member of the Standing Committee on Research Methodology for Research Projects of the BPR& D (Bureau of Police Research & Development), Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India.